View from the fence

Social, environmental and economic issues surrounding GM foods, and the latest news

Ask for Evidence campaign

Leave a comment

Sense About Science has an excellent campaign, ‘Ask for Evidence’, which is designed to make companies, politicians, commentators and official bodies accountable for the claims they make.  They are asking everyone who sees claims without evidence to contact the journalist/company/campaign group/MP/claim-maker of any description to ask for some.

So I’m planning to do some evidence asking in relation to GM amd will publish my correspondence here. Please let me know if you see any claims.

The case studies make interesting reading – requests have met a range of responses, from being ignored to removal of the claims. I’d encourage everyone to join in, whatever claims they stumble across. Rubbish is a current theme so I will be thinking of some to ask about food waste, another of my interests.

Author: Rebecca Nesbit

I am author of a popular science book 'Is that Fish in your Tomato?' exploring the fact and fiction of GM crops. In my work and leisure so far, I have trained bees to detect explosives, used a radar to study butterflies for my PhD, written a novel, taken the train from London to China, organised Biology Week, sold science jewellery on Etsy, and traveled to four continents with Nobel Laureates. Best off all, I've made lots of friends whose support I very much appreciate. Thank you! Please visit my website: http://rebeccanesbit.com/

Leave a Reply

